Ativan anyone?

I realize it’s only November, but I already have a resolution for 2011. I have got to get better at this traveling thing – as I sit here waiting, 45 minutes before my flight boards, which is 45 minutes before it takes off. This after perusing the shops, buying a book after much debate, and making an unhealthy stop at McDonald’s. One would think that after living abroad for the past 10 years I would have this down.

Brad encouraged me to take the Narita Express that would have gotten me here a safe two hours before my flight. But all the “what-ifs” popped into my head. What if there’s a jumper on the tracks, delaying the train? (It happened before and I missed my flight.) What if there’s a ridiculously long check-in line wrapped around the entire check-in area. It’s always that way with Delta. Today with American – in and out, 5 minutes tops.

So here I sit – and wait. But the worst part was that I was snippy with Brad. Snippy for not being at the car at 2:45 like he promised. Snippy for not going the way I thought he should go and for dropping me off in an unfamiliar place. And I only slightly softened when he grabbed my suitcase and ran up the stairs to get my train ticket on time. I finally relaxed when the ticket for the too-early train was in my hand with 10 minutes to spare. Barely time for a quick kiss goodbye. Certainly not time for a proper apology.

So I resolve to relax and travel stress-free  – for my health and the sanity of those around me.

An addendum – when you catch the early train, thereby assuring that you will be the first to check in, your bags will be the LAST OFF on the other end!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

