Sights Along the Way

IMG_1097

I love this lady, doing her sewing right there on the street.

Often my greatest adventure is simply the walk to and from the train station. The color and energy of Bangkok is never more evident than in the stalls, shops, businesses, and the people that you pass by every day.

IMG_1169

Street food and cafes

FullSizeRender (34)

You will see shrines like these all over the city, right on the street or hidden in nooks and crannies. I pass these every day and Red Fanta is always used as an offering. Some believe it is because it resembles blood.

IMG_1107

A car wash on my street

FullSizeRender (25)

This coffee shop is right next to the car wash. I see coffee shops, from this little stand to Starbucks, all over the city.

FullSizeRender (24)

The Bodega, a semi-famous hostel, semi-famous in that I’ve read about it in blogs. It’s quite tranquil during the day, a bit raucous at night.

IMG_1166

Home

But perhaps the greatest adventure is simply getting from a to b. Walking down the loose-tiled, roller-coaster sidewalks without breaking an ankle and crossing the street, calculating the precise moment of plunging in, avoiding aggressive scooters, and dashing to the other side without getting hit present a daily challenge. I’ll have to admit that after a month I’ve gotten much braver and find myself just stepping into traffic, holding out my hand as if that will stop the cabs from hitting me. (It’s worked so far.)

IMG_1180

Just a sampling of the sidewalks I deal with on a daily basis. I walk around that tree every day.

IMG_1092

This sand mound was right in the middle of the sidewalk. I had to share the street with the cabs and crazy scooters.

This entry was posted in Bangkok. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

